Alabama’s New DUI Law – Ignition Interlock

DUI Penalties First offense: A First DUI Offense is charged as a misdemeanor, and upon conviction a person may be sentenced as follows: up to 365 days in jail, a fine not to exceed $2,100.00, a driver’s license suspension of 90 to 365 days, required to attend a court ordered substance abuse program, probation, and ordered to have an ignition interlock installed on their primary vehicle. Second offense: A Second DUI Offense is charged...

Read More

Expungement Law Passed

In April of this year, Alabama passed legislation that allows certain people to petition a court in Alabama to have a criminal record expunged. Now, for the first time in Alabama, residents who have been charged with a non-violent felony, misdemeanor offense, violation, traffic violation, or municipal ordinance violation, BUT WERE NOT CONVICTED, may be able to erase the arrest record from public view entirely. Specifically, if a...

Read More